Search India here

Indian Team for ODI Matches against England

The ODI matches starting from 3rd September is of prior importance to the Indian squad after loosing four test matches and one twenty- twenty in a row. Injuries are still threatening the squad. Virendar Sehwag and Gautham Gambir- the best opening pair of Indian team won't get a chance in this series. Similarly Zaheer Khan also lost the series due to injury. Veteran player Dravid found a place in this squad after his awesome performance in the test series and Twenty-twenty match.Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh are also omitted from the team for the same reason as the above three.

The first team squad list was like this:
M.S. Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Zaheer Khan, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra and Parthiv Patel.

But, Virender Sehwag, Gautham Gambhir and Zaheer Khan were omitted later from the team.